Symphony of tenerife


The Tenerife Symphony Orchestra is one of the most prestigious musical institutions in Spain due to its trajectory, quality and innovative character throughout the years and is the loudspeaker of the Tenerife society both inside and outside the island. Created in 1935 as the Chamber Orchestra of the Canary Islands, it is a cultural project of the Cabildo of Tenerife, the administration on which it depends. In its more than 85 years of history, the Orchestra has had six conductors. The initial stage corresponded to Santiago Sabina, followed by Armando Alfonso, Edmon Colomer, Víctor Pablo Pérez -currently honorary conductor-, Lü Jia and Michal Nesterowicz. Antonio Mendez has also been the principal conductor of the ensemble.

The Tenerife Symphony Orchestra faces all the tasks of an organization of its size with a concert program that includes all genres and periods; a fundamental part of its season are also all the concerts and actions of a socio-cultural nature with educational concerts, collaborations with institutions dedicated to people at risk of social exclusion and training for the talent of the island. Its collaborations with various Canarian festivals are an important part of its activity, such as the International Music Festival of the Canary Islands, the International Film Music Festival of Tenerife (Fimucité) or the International Festival Canarias Jazz & Más. In addition, the orchestra participates in the Tenerife Opera season, a project of the Cabildo de Tenerife. As a whole, the Tenerife Symphony Orchestra gives more than sixty performances a year in collaboration with the whole social and cultural fabric of the island.

In these years, the Tenerife Symphony Orchestra has become the cultural reference of the Island and has been an ambassador in the national and international tours it has made, with outstanding performances in Germany, Austria, United Kingdom and China, among other scenarios.

This Orchestra was a pioneer in the realization of didactic concerts for schoolchildren and has been performing popular concerts for more than 15,000 spectators for twenty-five years, first in the Christmas concert and later in the concert of the Christ of La Laguna. A good part of its more than thirty recordings, in labels such as Auvidis, Decca, or Deutsche Grammophon, have obtained national and international recognition. The Tenerife Symphony Orchestra received the Ondas Award in 1996.

Throughout his career great artists of the international scene have worked with the Sinfónica de Tenerife. Among them we highlight the batons of Jesús López Cobos, Alberto Zedda, Vasily Petrenko, Leopold Hager, Giovanni Antonini, Fabio Biondi, Marc Minkowski, Eliahu Inbal, Günther Herbig, Josep Pons, Krzysztof Penderecki, Christian Badea, Jean Jacques Kantorow, Gianandrea Noseda, Ton Koopman, Dmitry Sitkovetsky, Fabio Luisi, Christian Zacharias and Javier Perianes, the latter two as conductor and soloist.

The ensemble has been accompanied in these years with soloists such as Plácido Domingo, Alfredo Kraus, Celso Albelo, Jorge de León, María Bayo, Barbara Bonney, Nathalie Stutzmann, Brigite Fassbaender, Barbara Hendricks, Ian Bostridge, Ainhoa Arteta, Krystian Zimerman, Kyung Wha Chung, Mischa Maisky, Schlomo Mintz, Gil Shaham, Grigor Sokolov, Frank P. Zimmermann, Dimitri Bashkirov, Katia & Marielle Labèque, Philippe Entremont, Emanuel Ax, Viktoria Mullova, Vladimir Spivakov, Silvia Marcovici, Nikolaj Znaider, Leonidas Kavakos, Steven Isserlis, Manuel Barrueco, Alexei Volodin, Alina Pogostkina, Truls Mørk, Daniel Müller-Schott, François Leleux, Pierre-Laurent Aimard, Stefan Dohr and Pablo Ferrández, among many others.

The Tenerife Symphony Orchestra is a member of the Spanish Association of Symphony Orchestras (AEOS) and the Network of Organizers of Educational and Social Concerts (ROCE).

Subscribe to our newsletter